Laid off
9:15 AM | 08-01-19

This all happened the day after my dad died ten years ago. It's been a long summer of job searching, but this is what I wrote to my past peers and colleagues.

They say, the first year of marriage is the hardest. For me, it was our second. My husband and I were both laid off within one month of each other. We had never been laid off before and have been employed since we were 22 years old. The race to employment was on. In two weeks, my husband was offered a position- shit! I lost. But, after almost 3 months of job searching, a sea of interviews, 6 second interviews, 4 third interviews, 2 pre-celebratory dinners where I was SURE I got the job (and didn’t), 3 where I was told I was too over qualified, 2 where I was told I was under qualified, and 4 where the company completely ghosted, 2 offers, one to relocate and one to stay at my present location. I went with my gut, and I am overjoyed to share with you, I start my new position next week. I’m so excited because it was exactly what I was looking for with endless opportunity & career growth. My new boss called me this morning saying he was beyond excited that I’m joining the team and invited me to the company’s outing tomorrow. It was a long, challenging journey that was discouraging at times, but my husband and I definitely learned some things. First, at the end of the day, no matter how loyal you are to a company, remind yourself, it IS a business. No matter how much you sell, how great you are, how long you stay day in and day out, does not determine your worth. If it’s your time to go, it’s your time. Sometimes you just don’t get to choose WHEN. Second, don’t ever sell yourself short; remember where you came from. You know your worth, you know what you’re capable of, and, I bet it’s more than you think. Lastly, go where you’re wanted. That statement alone spoke volumes to me, and made sense when I was juggling my two employment options. I’m so grateful for the coaching and comradery I received from you all in this group. You have all helped me more than you know. The positive, encouraging messages from everyone, job postings, daily news, and those who are on LinkedIn providing support were like the spectators cheering on marathon runners from the sidelines. Know that, we will FOREVER be a team. All of you were instrumental in helping me stay positive and never giving up. For those still on your journey, you’ve got this! Stay positive and never give up. If I can help you in any way, please reach out and connect with me. I’d love to pay it forward!

DiRty StuFf || All ClEaN!!

NEW old Pr0FilE G*Bo0K N0TeS E*MAIL TA-DAH! D*LAND
PicTurEs

ConTacT Me
E*MAIL ME
AIM: happylilbunny17

CuRrEnTlY
Time: 9:15 AM
Date: 08-01-19
Eating:Nothing :/
Drinking:H20
Wearing:Clothes, I hope!
Hearing: Typing
Reading: Papers
Chatting w/: No one
Thinking: too much.
Wanting: so much.
PLUG: ILUVU.com

<< T0DAY I*m feelin'
The current mood of amyleigh17@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

<< Who Am i!?
Pierced.Saracastic.Giving.Emotional. Sleepy.Lazy.Broke.Shy.Crazy.Silly.Sweet.Babygirl.Scared.Bored.Damaged.Bitchy. Fabulous.PunkRockStar.Moody. Misunderstood.Understanding.Hyper.Funny.Obsessive.Confused.Naughty.Psycho. Wild.Sympathetic.Weird.Unique.Cute.Evil.



HOW MANY PEOPLE COMMIN BACK 4 MORE?? Site
Meter Thanx for commin!! *MUAH*
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Philly's #1 Hot Spot